Head Association

The association held its inaugural meeting in the second class station buffet in Zurich. On 26 February 1942, 76 people representing the worlds of transport and business gathered there to found the Swiss Museum of Transport Association. Chaired by the director of the Swiss Federal Office of Transport, the assembled gentlemen discussed the establishing of a transport museum, approved the statutes and elected the first steering committee. A further 17 years were to pass before the museum in Lucerne opened to the public on 1 July 1959. Today, the museum – still organised as an association – is the most visited such institution in the country and has a membership of 36,000.

The transport museum started out with three departments – railways, roads and aviation – and also covered the realms of communications, postal services, telegraphy and telephony, as well as waterborne transport and tourism. Even in those early days it benefited from a transport archive and a conference hall. The museum has remained true to the founding concept of showcasing mobility in all its guises; it has even expanded on them by adding a department devoted to space travel.

    Executive Board

    Franz Steinegger, lic. iur., Former National Councillor, Altdorf (Chair)
    Olivier Fantino, Geschäftsführer strasseschweiz, Bern
    Anton Häne, President of the Foundation Board SBB Historic – SBB Heritage Foundation, Moosseedorf
    Pascal Kreder, Delegate of the Board of Directors, Reflection Marketing, Zurich
    Paul Kurrus, Former National Councillor and businessman, Arlesheim
    Urs W. Studer, former Mayor of Lucerne, Lucerne
    Beat Züsli, Mayor of Lucerne, Lucerne

    Join now

    Do you feel a connectedness with the Swiss Museum of Transport? Would you like to support us? The museum family has more than 35,000 loyal members and sponsors. Become part of the story – we look forward to welcoming you!

    Ticket Shop

    Information, reservations, sales

    +41 (0)41 375 75 75

    Verkehrshaus der Schweiz
    Lidostrasse 5
    CH-6006 Lucerne

    Opening times

    Open daily!
    10 am to 6 pm
    10 am to 5 pm